And No One Stopped Them | Part 15

A Blowfish, Some Knuckle-Draggers, and a Girl Named Alice

Ugly truths, secret shame, and how child sexual abuse impacts puberty

Liberty Forrest
8 min readOct 22, 2021

--

Sad teen girl looking deep in thought by window
Photo courtesy of MART PRODUCTION from Pexels

All the girls at school were talking about boys and wondering about that First Kiss. I was simply dreading it.

The idea of some drooling, zit-faced kid with a mini-hard-on and his knuckles dragging on the ground wanting to pucker up like a bloody blowfish and jam his mouth against mine (and oh, God, force his tongue down my throat??) was enough to make me want to throw up. I was too busy riding bikes and catching frogs with those zit-faced knuckle-draggers to be bothered with that stuff.

I just figured I was the world’s biggest tomboy.

But then something else happened. I’d taken Bobbie, a friend from school, across the street to the Martins’ house with me one night while I was babysitting. The two little boys had gone to bed when I heard Bobbie gasp from the dining room where she sat at the table. I looked over and saw her eyebrows just about hitting the ceiling.

“Oh, my gawd! Look at this!” she exclaimed, pointing at a magazine she’d pulled out of a huge stack of books and papers.

--

--

Liberty Forrest

Creator of “Witchy” cartoon. Award-Winning Author. Spiritual Arts. My PUBS: 1) THE AFTERLIFE; 2) HOPE, HEALING AND HUMOUR; and 3) THEWITCHYONE (for "Witchy")