And No One Stopped Them | Part 2

How Toxic Seeds Become the Twisted Roots of Abuse

So easy to plant…so difficult to kill…

Liberty Forrest
4 min readOct 10, 2021

--

huge creepy tree and roots growing out of abandoned stone house
(Photo courtesy of James Wheeler at Pexels)

I’m not sure what age I was, just a few months old; no one would bother to remember exactly. I just know I was old enough to sit on the sofa, my thumb firmly planted in my mouth, my only security, poor thing, plunked into yet another new family situation.

“Oh, Lord, you’d think they could have given us a pretty baby,” my mother said to my father. “This one’s fat and ugly! And look at that eczema on her cheeks. I hope no one wants to come and see her. We don’t have to tell anyone about her right away, do we?”

I frowned at my mother that day; I frowned at all of them, my parents and my new brother, Paul. I must have known What Was To Come.

Years on, my mother told me this story on several occasions, chuckling each time. I was astonished by such ignorance, that she was incapable of comprehending what it did to me to hear this story, let alone have her laugh about it.

She loved to show family and friends a particular photograph of me and they always howled with laughter, although I will never understand why. I was still a baby, just five months old, and in this photo I am standing in the corner of my crib, pressing my…

--

--

Liberty Forrest

Creator of “Witchy” cartoon. Award-Winning Author. Spiritual Arts. My PUBS: 1) THE AFTERLIFE; 2) HOPE, HEALING AND HUMOUR; and 3) THEWITCHYONE (for "Witchy")